51. Vince Flynn

Leave a comment

June 20, 2013 by bdetienne

vinceflynnpursuit

Shortly after logging into my Twitter account yesterday I came across the unfortunate news that said bestselling author Vince Flynn had passed away at age 47 after a lengthy battle with prostate cancer. Flynn wrote fourteen thrillers, all but one featuring CIA agent Mitch Rapp and his counter-terrorism adventures. I recall a story from a couple of years ago in which he announced he had cancer but that he was going through treatment and would continue writing, but three books later and no that announcement regarding his health that I had seen had me assuming that his health was okay.

I had never heard of Vince Flynn until a couple of friends recommended him to me a few years ago. I borrowed one of his books from them and dived in right away, immersing myself in the story. Within a week I had completed the book and asked my friends to loan me any of his other ten books that they had to me. A year later, I had either read or listened to all of his books [sidenote: the audio versions of his books are great. Armand Schultz does a fantastic job narrating the story.]. I had become a Vince Flynn fan and eagerly anticipated his new books when I had heard of their upcoming releases.

If you have not already had the opportunity to do so, try out a Vince Flynn novel. He was a gifted writer and you will enjoy the stories he has scribed. My condolences go out to his wife and three children who have not only lost a storyteller, but a husband and father.

Leave a Reply

